A Valentine Quilted Hanging

I made a version of the “Love” Letters Mini Quilt from The Crafty Quilter using the machine quilting tools on my new machine, and it turned out pretty well. It’s a gift for my granddaughter that I think she will enjoy. She’s pretty good about showing appreciation for gifts. I followed the directions as closely as possible, but I don’t have the quilting skills of The Crafty Quilter, particularly the stippling skills, although I’d like to learn them someday. I had problems from the get go, especially cutting the four squares so that they were square, even though I have a ruled mat and rotary cutter. I had to get a few clear rulers to finally get them right, and I wisely made a test square to try out a variety of steps, like using the applique blanket stitch on curved pieces.

I agonized about the stippling, which is such a beautiful technique, particularly because the spaces were so small, that I feared my amateur attempts would just be messy and overlapped. I stumbled across a stippling stitch on my machine, and while it doesn’t have the beautiful rounded shapes of free-hand stippling, it seemed good enough for this small piece. You can see in this picture, that stitching in the ditch is also a skill that I need to improve on, missing the ditch in a few places.

Putting the squares and side pieces together with the batting and backing was easy enough, but I fought making the bias binding for the edges. At first, I thought I might just extend the edges of the backing and fold it over to the front, but I didn’t like the red fabric against the red rick rack, so I made my own from strips of bias fabric. In fact, I made it first from the backing print, but then decided to make it from the lighter border print. I would say that attaching the binding and mitering the corners was the least enjoyable task, but maybe I was just tired and ready to be done with it.

All in all, I think it turned out very nice, if not as perfect as the model, and I learned a lot in the process. Visit the original site to compare.

4 thoughts on “A Valentine Quilted Hanging

  1. Oh my goodness! Your LOVE wall hanging turned out adorable! Your machine stippling stitch is just right. It’s so nice to see another version of this project. Thank you for sharing the link to my tutorial.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much. I am more than happy to link to your tutorial, which, as you can see, is easily followed. I found it originally on Pinterest, where it is very popular. I’m sure others have made it, but I’m glad you were able to see this one attempt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

